My 1st Pinup Shoot!

A few months ago, in the perfect sense of the word irony, I was contacted by one of my past models who told me she loved my look and was wondering if I was interested in modeling a pinup shoot for her. Crazy right?! It sounded fun, as I had never done a pinup shoot before, but I did have the wedding coming up so I told her I really couldn’t think about planning anything else at that point in time. We decided the best thing to do would be to get in touch after the big day.

After the wedding (and a few business trips later!), with a 2nd place win in my first ever pinup competition, I was ready to commit. Deedra of Deedra Stephens Photography gave me some inspiration photos and I went to work curating the perfect pinup outfits. I was SOOO nervous! If you have read my previous post on the pinup competition then you know that even though I have been ‘living’ pinup for years, the only pinup photos I have taken thus far were done by me (with my iPhone) for this blog and my @thepennywisepinup Instagram account!

What if I sucked?! How embarrassing would that be? “Meet Penny la Peche! the un-pinupable pinup!” Sounds like a sideshow attraction, don’t ya think? The entire night leading up to the shoot I was nauseous as all hell. I lit my favorite Yankee candle and went to work setting my curls, packing my wardrobe and digging out my falsies.

The next morning I woke bright and early. When it comes to my hair, I leave it in the curls for as long as absolutely possible! My normal primping routine goes something like this…

  1. Set Hair (Either the night before or heat set the morning of and pin.)
  2. Do Make-up (No lips! Your hair will most likely get stuck in them while styling if you do.)
  3. Do Hair
  4. Get Dressed
  5. Put on Lips (That finishing touch, ya know?)

Once I was all ready, I packed up my outfit changes, makeup and poise and headed for the location.

combo3deedra

The day went amazingly! We started out by warming up in her studio. I put on some music because when I work with models it makes them much more comfortable and it sure as heck helped me! After that we headed to Blue Moon Diner.

combo1deedra

Our final location was a special request by me, Harvey Marine. This used to be a boat dealership but now is vacant of the water vessels and deals only in boat parts. Now it’s just good ol’ Harvey. A 26′ tall rabbit statue that I have been dreaming of getting shots with! I’m really excited with how these images turned out. Shooting with Deedra Stephens Photography was casual, comfortable and I highly recommend it!

combo4deedra

combo-2-deedra

Hope you like them!

-Penny la Pêche

img_9200

Leave a Reply

