My 1st Hair Class!

Oh my lord! It has seriously been forever since I have had a chance to blog! If it wasn’t work travel, family, friends, cleaning, cats, it was something else, but thank goodness… I got this whole last week off to catch up!

So I LOVE learning. If there is a better, smarter faster, less expensive way to do something, I want to know about it! Not only do I want to know, I want to tell everyone I come in contact with. Spread the wealth right? A couple of weeks ago I had the opportunity to share what I have learned so far in the way of teaching my very first “Vintage Holiday Hairstyling Class”!

HolidayHSF

 

At this class I taught 3 different styles: Victory Rolls, Bumper Bangs and what I call Glamour Waves. (All of which I will blog about in more detail the up coming posts, providing picture tutorials and diagrams. ) My hair models were the following 3 lovely ladies…

Hair Models

On  the left we have the adorable Jamie, the wonderful middle is Rebecca and on the end, enjoying her tropical beverage, we have Meghan. I have had the pleasure of working with Jamie’s hair before as she has modeled for me in the past, (see below… Girlfriend knows how to weerk! Yes, she is on a tractor.).

Lanae Lingerie Sherbet 2

As for Rebecca and Meghan, I have never worked with their hair, so it was a test for me as well! I put out some feelers a few weeks before the class to see if anyone would be interested in something like this and I had 10 ladies sign up! I was so excited. As for the location, the wonderful Lisa Hahn volunteered The Heart of Rock Farm to hold the event, and we were set! Until we hit our 1st bump in the road, or may I say river in the road?…..

Click and watch this!

Yep, that is Lisa and Phil. We found out at 3pm on Friday that the rain wasn’t letting up and one of the roads to the farm had already become inaccessible due to a river forming over it! Worried that my 10 ladies would be left without a class and no good options for rescheduling due to the holiday season, Rebecca and I began brainstorming where we could hold something like this on such short notice. Then we had it… an apartment club house! Rental of a complex’s club house is normally very cheap since they include it as part of the tenant’s rents upon moving in. The only problem was we didn’t live in an apartment. 2nd bump : /

That is when we reached out to my soon-to-be mother-in-law. Her club house was beautiful and only $25 to rent as long as you put down a deposit to make sure you don’t trash the place. This sounded perfect and she called to see if we could rent it out…it was already booked. 3rd bump : /

That’s when Wendy (soon-to-be mother-in-law) jumped in and saved the day! She offered up her place for my class. I couldn’t believe it! We had a spot! Not only was it a dry spot to talk hair, it is immaculately vintage. To explain to you how lovely her place is, just imagine a giant tin coke billboard from the 1940s. It’s sorta like the one below but with only 1 gal and it fills up an entire living room wall! This place is perfect.

Image Credit: Terapeak Inc.

rare-vintage-1941-original-large-drink-coca-cola-coke-sign-billboard-60-x24-e9dce78c9865aeed0a205c16824340b5 (2)

Out of the 10 ladies registerd, 9 showed up! I couldn’t believe it! I figured we might get 4 if we were lucky due to the horrible weather and flooding of roads. The only lady that couldn’t make it was dealing with a flooding basement. Talk about Oregon rain.

After 3 bumps in the road we were finally doing it! The class registration fee was $25 which I used to get milk, cookies and everything (besides a 1″ barrel curling iron) that the ladies would need to start trying out these hair styles on their own.

goodiebags

 

The bags included:

  • 1 Travel hairspray (Bead Head Hard Head Hairspray)
  • 1 Teasing brush
  • 12 Pin curl clips
  • 2 Duckbill clips
  • 30 Bobby pins
  • 2- 5 gram jars of pomade (Suavecita)
  • 1 Christmas card from me : )

Check in next week to see how I used these products in the pinup transformation!

Feeling grateful for my amazing family & friends,

-Pennywise

pizap.com14508329270514

2 thoughts on “My 1st Hair Class!

  1. Hello! I just discovered your blog and also live in Portland! I am very into the pinup aesthetic but not sure how to meet others with similar interests, and I am quite shy with new people! Do you have any suggestions or classes coming up? Thanks so much! 😄

    Like

    • Hi Loren! Sorry it has taken me so long to respond! We have recently moved so this is the first chance I have had to get back to blogging. I would say a great place to start is the Pacific NW Pinup/Retro Group on Facebook. They post a bunch of meet-ups and local events where you can meet ladies with similar taste 🙂 It is a closed group but if you would like to be added, you can email me at pennywisepinup@gmail.com and I will use your email to add you to the group. Hope this helps!
      -Pennywise

      Like

Leave a Reply

