A Very Burlesque Halloween

Well we have just finished up with the most wonderful time of the year. No you didn’t miss Christmas (puke noise). If you know me, you know that when August rolls around it is time to start planning costumes. Normally I will sew and make something completely from scratch and Tanner will ever so sweetly be whatever I suggest. (He’s a keeper.) This year was completely different! I told Tanner that he got to pick out our costumes. His choice?…. Marilyn Manson and Dita Von Teese. Sorry Mom ; )

Photo Credit: Haineng.co

Photo Credit: Haineng.co

Now if you have been living under a rock or are simply not into shock rock or burlesque here are a few links that you may want to check out…

Manson: The Beautiful People

Teese: Perrier Advertisement 

And you’re back. Amazing right?!

I was honestly a bit concerned this year that my costume would be too much like my everyday look just much sexier. I already have black hair and do a red lip and cateye everyday so I thought it would look like “Oh great, she went as a slut for Halloween.” Tanner convinced me that I could make it awesome. So I went for it. Here is how it turned out…

Not too shabby if I do say so myself! I determined what I could do with my makeup to make my face look a bit more like hers, so I flattened out my brows, thinned out my lips and added her classic beauty mark. I also used some false lashes. I pinned up my hair in vintage waves and styled it slicked with Suavecita Pomade.

I used my satin underbust Orchard Corset CS-426. Which is a hell of a deal for $79! If you are looking for a corset, I HIGHLY recommend it. I then went searching for a bargain on some Dita lingerie, particularly the Her Sexellency Overwire Bra. I have had my eye on this piece for months, and I actually found a smoking deal at ASOS! 50% off babay! I also wore sheer nylons under a pair of silk “granny panties” for added warmth and coverage. On top of those nylons I added cuban seamed thigh highs that I purchased at a local shop, but can be found here at Walmart.

I found some great gaudy rhinestone earrings locally and a hair comb for $6. I also purchased some long satin gloves for $9.99 from a Spirit Halloween Store. The final 2 touches to my costume were a massive feather boa and ballet pointe shoes. I purchased 4 100g boas for $8.50 each and sewed them together to make 1 lush monster of feathers. Just 1 super full boa goes for a whopping $100! I saved myself $66 by making it myself! I bought pink satin pointe shoes for $16.50 and sprayed them with black dye and used red leather paint on the bottoms to get the faux Louboutin look, to mimic Dita’s gorgeous pairs.

It was such a fun evening! I’ll leave you with a few more photos of some fantastic costumes. The first is some good old brotherly love. (Tanner’s little bro is the sailor.)

A little Rocky Horror, Dr. Frank-N-Furter for ya.

An event that happened Nov. 22nd (my birthday) in 1963. Too soon?

Thanks for stopping by! Until next time,

-Pennywise

Leave a Reply

