The Usual Suspect; My Daily Pinup Hair

In the last post I showed you how I go about my daily makeup routine. While I was documenting it I decided to let you in on my almost daily hair routine as well! To keep things interesting and to challenge myself, I try about 2-3 times per week to mix it up with different swirls, twirls and curls. For the rest of the days when I have say an early meeting , or I’m just not wanting to put in all that effort I do this. What fascinates me is that I am continually happy with it, time and time again! I really haven’t had a bad hair day in quite a while since I figured out this set!

Now this may not work for everyone but I highly suggest you give it a try!

Step 1) Grab your teasing brush or comb, (I got this one for $2.99 at Sally’s), and give yourself a deep side part. I stay around the highest point of my brow. I feel like Morticia Addams with my au’Natural’ hair!

Step 2) Take a 1 inch barrel curling iron, (mine is a here), and turn it up fairly high. I go about 3/4 of the max setting. The higher the setting, the less time you have to have it in your hair. Remember hotter = shorter time. Also make sure not burn yourself!

Step 3) Grab the front section of your hair around 1″ deep and curl it going forward in your iron. I let mine sit for about 10-15 seconds. One the hair on your iron is hot to the touch, slowly release it keeping the curl in that single roll with your other hand.

Step 4) Grab a little double pronged clip, (I use these), and pin your curl into place right where your curling iron used to be. Next grab a section of hair 1″ deep right behind where you just placed your first curl.

Step 5) Curl that second section of hair just like you did the first one, curling towards the front and pin in place with one of your metal clips. No we move onto the sides. Just as before, take a 1″ deep section of hair over your ear and curl this towards the front. Pin in place.

Step 6) Again grab a 1″ deep section of hair right behind the area you just pinned above your ear. Curl it forward and pin it in place. Now move on to your other side. Curl the 1st & 2nd row by your ear forward and pin them in place.

Step 7) Now we start down the back! Grab a 1″ section at the top of your head and curl it down. Pin in place. Continue curling the rest of the remaining hair downward and pin it all in place. Once everything is curled and tidy, take some hairspray and give it a quick once over. I use Tresemme Two Freeze Hold Hairspray. This will help it set while it cools and if you have stick straight hair like me, anything helps!

Step 8) Once all your curls have cooled, (about 10-15 min), gently take out all your clips. This will leave you with ringlets. Grab the 1/2″ section of hair that is right next to your part on the top of your head. With your teasing comb, begin to back comb it down toward the roots on the underneath side of the hair. This is the side that will be laying down if you let go ; )

Step 9) Once that little section is teased enough to stand up a smidge on it’s own, give it a tiny spritz on the underneath side, by the teased area. Next, grab another 1/2″ section of hair directly next to that teased side and tease it at the roots. Make sure to hold the section that has already been teased so they begin to come together. Each time you add another little 1/2″ to the growing tease mound give it a little spritz.

Step 10) Stop teasing once you have reached approximately the equal distance from your ear, as your part is on the other side. You should be looking pretty foxy by this point!

Step 11) Ok so what now? Well, let’s start ramping up the flat sides a bit. Add a little teasing on the underside of the flat section, making sure to spray it each time and continue holding the previously teased sections, creating your dangerous looking mounds. Now we sculpt. Take your same teasing comb and gently brush the top of your mounds to start to smooth is all out.

Step 12) Make sure that while you are smoothing, not to lose that nice wave volume you just worked so hard to get! You can puff it back up with the tail end of your teasing brush if you find it getting flat. Smooth the other side and make sure to brush the back of your hair and the ends of your hair as well. Consistency people.

Step 13) Pick you hair accessory. This time we are going with a scarf. Even the scarf out towards the side you eventually want the bow to sit. You don’t want to have to adjust it once in place. Let’s be real, it will just fuck up your hair.

Step 14) Adjust what you need to. Grab some bobby pins and to hold you scarf in place and secure it right above your ears. Once you pull your hair forward on the sides a bit you won’t even see them.

Step 15) Give it a good one over with your hairspray, put on your lips and go take a selfie! That’s it!

Hope this was helpful! Until Next time!

-Pennywise

One thought on “The Usual Suspect; My Daily Pinup Hair

Leave a Reply

